Inspiration

June 21, 2012  •  5 Comments

"Lupine Cottage" June 20, 2012

Some people call it a "blog roll", others just say: links, but these are my sources of visual and emotional inspiration that I figured I'd round up for your perusal and enjoyment, and this is by no means a concise list, and I'll undoubtedly be updating it occasionally as I remember people who I've heartlessly forgotten. So bear with me if you don't see your name on the list, it doesn't mean I love you any less :)

Photographers classic:

Ansel Adams, who better than to start with. http://www.anseladams.com/ and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ansel_Adams for his mastery of the darkroom: "the negative is the score, the print the performance."

Edward Weston http://www.edward-weston.com/ and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edward_Weston I just love his still-life work of the peppers and the nudes and the nautilus'

Henri Cartier Bresson http://www.henricartierbresson.org/index_en.htm and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Henri_Cartier-Bresson decisively the father of street photography.

Alfred Eisenstaedt http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alfred_Eisenstaedt a little guy in a very large photographers body.

and some of my favorite classic pictures by other artists: 

Charles C. Ebbets, 1932

Dorothea Lange, 1936

Joe Rosenthal, 1945

Harry Callahan, 1947

Herman Leonard of Dexter Gordon, 1948

 

Photographers contemporary:


Joel Meyerowitz http://www.joelmeyerowitz.com/ I fell in love with his "Cape Light" book before I made pictures. 

Jay Maisel http://www.jaymaisel.com/ nobody does color like Jay does.

Michael Kenna for his amazing long exposure work http://www.michaelkenna.net/

Michael Levin http://www.michaellevin.ca/

Moose Peterson http://www.moosepeterson.com/blog/

Joe McNally: Joe Rocks! http://portfolio.joemcnally.com/ and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joe_McNally

Zack Arias: best people shooter with a crazy giant goatee! http://zackarias.com/

David Simonton http://www.davidsimonton.com/about-this-site/2/

Frans Lanting http://www.lanting.com/ and the most amazing landscape of 2011 here:

Mitch Dobrowner http://www.mitchdobrowner.com/

John Paul Caponigro http://www.johnpaulcaponigro.com/

Joel Tjintjelaar http://www.bwvision.com/

Aaron Feinberg http://afeinbergphotography.com/

Frank Grisdale http://www.frankgrisdale.com/

Alexey Titarenko http://www.alexeytitarenko.com/

Jim Patterson http://jimpattersonphotography.com/

Ian Plant http://www.ianplant.com/blog/

Emerging Photographers:

Kah Kit Yoong http://www.magichourunplugged.com/

Kees Smans http://www.keessmans.com/

Hengki Koentjoro http://www.koentjoro.com/

Vassily Tangoulis https://plus.google.com/113212564798246057056/posts

Mike Shaw https://plus.google.com/102518365620075109973/posts and http://mikefshaw.blogspot.com/

Jared Polin (he's wicked funny!) http://jaredpolin.com/ and https://www.youtube.com/user/JaredPolin

Julia Anna Gospodarou https://plus.google.com/117455365995643899222/posts

Olivier Du Tre' http://www.olivierdutre.com/

Steve-Maxx Landeros https://plus.google.com/107407546116445953252/posts

Nathan Wirth http://www.nlwirth.com/

Thomas Hawk http://thomashawk.com/

Andy Brown http://www.flickr.com/photos/mrbuk1/

James Thornbrook http://www.flickr.com/photos/jamesthornbrook/

Ryan Dyar http://www.ryandyar.com/

Brad Goldpaint http://goldpaintphotography.com/

Andy Lee https://plus.google.com/115492479555704154908/posts

Athena Carey http://www.athenacarey.com/

Russ Barnes http://russbarnes.co.uk/

Grant Murray http://www.createwithlightphotography.com/

Jeff Gaydash http://jeffgaydash.com/

Chris Friel http://www.chrisfriel.co.uk/

Peyton Hale http://www.rphphoto.com/

Photographers with crazy accents from down-under

Andrew Sanigorski https://plus.google.com/101711168415133898421/posts and http://studio121.com.au/

Todd Sisson https://plus.google.com/111402735079180150346/posts

Photographers who also live in Maine USA:

Moe Chen: his Maine imagery is almost better than mine! http://moechenphotography.com/

Jim Nickelson: this guy knows everything! http://56x56.com/blog/

Charlie Widdis http://charliewiddisphotography.com/ killer landscapes- Hey Charlie!

Robert Moran: fine art perfection http://www.robertmoran.com/ thanks for the tips Bob!

Christopher O'Donnell http://christopherodonnellphotography.com/

Photobloggers:

Joe McNally http://www.joemcnally.com/blog/

Scott Kelby http://scottkelby.com/

Guy Tal http://guytal.com/wordpress/ fantastic and always challenging photographic and art philosophy

Blake Andrews http://blakeandrews.blogspot.com/ COMMENTS FROM THE PHOTOGRAPHIC HINTERLANDS -

Zack Arias http://zackarias.com/blog/

John Paul Caponigro http://www.johnpaulcaponigro.com/blog/

Julieanne Kost http://blogs.adobe.com/jkost/

Petapixel http://www.petapixel.com/

Ian Plant http://www.ianplant.com/blog/

David duChemin http://www.pixelatedimage.com/blog/

Thomas Hawk http://thomashawk.com/

Other sources of inspiration:

Starbucks French Roast with some milk and sugar.Sophie Spiker: http://www.facebook.com/SophiaSpiker -Love ya sweetie! 

PBR: 

Acadia National Park: http://www.nps.gov/acad/index.htm (home sweet home)

My doggy Grover and Gus the cat and Andre (Soph's dog, not pictured cause he's kinda bashful):

Hot glass and the Perrins at Atlantic Art Glass in Ellsworth Maine: http://atlanticartglass.blogspot.com/

Weather http://www.accuweather.com/en/us/new-hampshire/weather-radar-rs

Alright that's it for now, like I said- I'll add to this list when I can remember what I'm forgetting. Have a good day and thanks for stopping by -Nate.

 

 

 

 

 

 


Comments

brock(non-registered)
At this point you'll find out what is important, it all gives a url to the appealing page: <a href="https://www.muzalive.com">토토사이트</a>
Best places in india(non-registered)
I found your post. This is an extremely well posted. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback. First replies have a lot of positive interest.
Thanks for the post and great tips.
helium 10 reviews(non-registered)
grab 50% discount using helium 10 coupon codes 2019 is even more comprehensive than those competitors, with a whopping 17 fully-featured tools included covering product research, product launches, keyword research, listing optimization and ongoing maintenance.
Water Flosser Reviews(non-registered)
you can keep the water tidy and also dust free with the assistance of the water storage tank cover.
Vassilis Tangoulis(non-registered)
Nate first of all you are doing really a great job with your site..great articles with your exceptional way of expressing ideas and thoughts..particularly this one is also a great source for people i didn't knew...and they are really amazing..thank you for your time to write down all these links ..Also a big thanks for mentioning me...
Now this photo is really something different from you .. romantic tones and sensitivity..glad to see new "hidden??" parts of Nate Parker..

See you around

Vassilis
No comments posted.
Loading...

Archive
January (3) February (2) March April (2) May June July (1) August (1) September October November December (1)
January (1) February March (1) April May June July August (1) September October November December
January February March April May June July August September October November December
January February March April May June July August September October November December
January February March April May June July August September October November December
January February March April May June July August September October November December
January February March April May June July August September October November December
January February March April May June July August September October November December